Academic Affairs Meeting September 3, 2008 Sininger Hall 129 3:00-5:00 p.m.

1. Members Attending: Dr. John Hayes, Dr. Ken Bentson, Ms. Leslie Broughton, Dr. Erica Derkas, Dr. Joan Gallini, Dr. Mary Shaw, Dr. Brandon Kempner, Dr. Donna Woodford, Dr. Pete LeRoy, Professor David Lobdell, Dr. Mario Rodriguez and Dr. Margaret Young.

Ex-Officio Members:

Absent: Dr. Linda LaGrange, Mr. John Coca, Dr. Carolyn Newman, Dr. Jill Baker, Stephanie Butts, Student Senate Secretary.

- **2. Approval of Agenda:** Dr. John Hayes made a motion to approve the agenda. Dr. Margaret Young seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.
- **3. Election of Academic Affairs Chair:** Dr. Mary Shaw officiated this meeting and asked for nominations as Chair of the Faculty Senate. Dr. Margaret Young was asked to fill in as Chair; however, her term ended last semester. Dr. John Hayes then volunteered to serve as Chair of the Committee.
- **4. Approval of August 20, 2008 Minutes:** Dr. Mary Shaw made a motion to approve the August 20, 2008 minutes. Dr. Erica Derkas seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
- 5. Report from Dr. Linda LaGrange, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs. No report at this time.
- **Report from Registrar Mr. John Coca, Registrar**No report at this time.
- 7. Report from Subcommittees, Undergraduate, Graduate and Ballen Endowment. Undergraduate Committee: No report at this time.

Graduate Committee: No report at this time.

Ballen Endowment Committee: Dr. Brandon Kempner provided a brief overview stating that this committee is comprised of three members: Dr. Kristie Ross, Professor David Lobdell and himself. He said their plan is to call for proposals in November.

NMHU Centers: Dr. Margaret Young reported that they divided into two subcommittees. Not much work was done over the summer. She will contact Dr. Rivera to provide an update and follow-up from there.

8. New Business

8.1 Review Makeup of Academic Affairs Committee Add/Delete

Dr. John Hayes asked if there was representation from each discipline as noted in the Faculty Handbook. After discussion, the Academic Affairs Committee is lacking representation from the Languages and Culture, and the School of Business.

8.2. Identify Undergraduate and Graduate Subcommittees

The following members were elected to the Undergraduate Subcommittee:

Dr. Brandon Kempner/Dr. Donna Woodford

Ms. Leslie Broughton

Professor David Lobdell

Dr. Kristie Ross

Dr. Mary Shaw

Dr. Jill Baker

Dr. Joan Gallini

Serving on the Graduate Subcommittee:

Dr. Pete LeRoy

Dr. Ken Bentson

Dr. Erica Derkas

Dr. Mario Rodriguez

Dr. Carolyn Newman

8.3. Development of Agenda Items for 2008-2009 Academic Year

Items to discuss during the 2008-2009 Academic Year are as follows:

- Discuss Schedule for Self-Study
- ACT Scores for Students
- Moving ITV Rooms
- Scheduling Labs in the Sciences
- Catalog Year
- Schedule for Graduate/Undergraduate Program Reviews

8.4. ITV Academic Meetings

It was decided by the Academic Affairs Committee that meetings will be held via ITV to accommodate Rio Rancho faculty and possibly Santa Fe. It was agreed by the committee that a larger room is needed.

9. Adjournment – Dr. Brandon Kempner made a motion to adjourn. Dr. Kristie Ross seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.