Academic Affairs Committee Minutes

August 21, 2013

(Approved September 4, 2013)

- Roll Call (3:12 pm) Members Present: Donna Woodford-Gormley, Warren Lail, Cheryl Zebrowski, Ruthy Watson, Craig Conley, Cristina Duran, Andre Garcia-Nuthmann, Seonsook Park, Margot Geagon, Jesus Rivas
- 2. Also in Attendance: Michael Raines, Gilbert Rivera Absent:

3. Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved, with addition of election of secretary, and concentrations as a discussion item. (Conley, Lail)

4. Approval of the Minutes

Minutes of May 1st were approved. (Lail, Conley)

5. Report from VP of Academic Affairs

- a. Working with registrar to have enrollment reports more accurately reflect attendance and admittance based on location, and to include a duplicated count for students taking classes at more than one location.
- b. Training sessions for adjunct and center faculty on Desire 2 Learn. Should all faculty be required to use D2L?

6. Report from Registrar

- a. Enrollment report: 44 registrations ahead from last year, but down 90 freshmen due to lack of ACT scores.
- b. Using Lecture Capture to demonstrate how to use Degree Audit, and posted on the web.
- c. Updated program info is not posted in degree audit, as the new catalog has not been completed.
- d. Catalog. The policies section is almost complete and will be posted on the web soon. Policy changes will be posted as soon as approved.
- e. Next upgrade to banner will be a web version.
- f. Faculty should report students who don't attend the first 2 weeks of class, so they may be dropped.
- g. Editorial changes to catalog may be done, but anything to be brought to AAC for approval cannot. Each department should keep better track of all class and program changes
- h. AAC should review what items should be approved by the committee. This item will be added to a future agenda.

7. Report from Faculty Senate

A senate liaison has not yet been appointed.

8. Subcommittees and chairs

- a. Cheryl Zebrowski was nominated as Secretary and approved by acclamation.
- b. Dr. Conley was nominated as the Undergraduate Appeals Subcommitte chair and approved by acclamation. The committee includes: Dr. Woodford-Gormley, Dr. Lail, Cheryl Zebrowski, Dr. Watson
- c. Dr. Geagon was nominated as the Graduate Appeals Subcommittee chair and approved by acclamation. The committee includes: Dr. Duran, Dr. Garcia-Nuthmann, Dr. Rivas
- d. Dr. Conley was nominated as the chair of the Ballen Endowment. Dr. Rivas and Dr. Garcia-Nuthmann will be on the committee.

9. Drop box / Sharepoint

a. We will stay with Drop box for this year. The Undergrad Appeals committee will test Sharepoint.

10. PDF fillable forms - Update

a. Dr. Lail is working on creating fillable pdf forms of the coversheets. Most of the fields will be required to have an answer. The new forms will be in drop box for our review so that we may approve them next meeting.

11. Program review schedule and procedures

- a. Graduate review was discussed with Dr. LaGrange. Both Graduate and Undergraduate reviews should be done at the same time.
- b. Currently scheduled College of Humanities and Fine Arts, College of Science and Mathematics, and the School of Business. Since the two colleges no longer exist, we need to revise the schedule. These would also be a lot of programs to review in one year.
- c. Should be a "self-study" approach so that it is meaningful. Should also be tied to the strategic plan.
- d. Develop a schedule and decide what information should be collected. Dr. Rivera suggested looking at the new program proposal to decide what might be useful.

12. Concentrations

- a. Does getting two concentrations cause a problem? Dr. Rivera says that the transcript will reflect that they have also met the requirements for the other degree, concentration, etc.
- b. A dual degree or concentration could be proposed to AAC.
- c. Dr. Rivera brought up the idea of a 2-year University Studies degree which might be proposed this year.

13. Meeting adjourned at 4:56

Draft minutes sent to Donna Woodford-Gormley and Pete LeRoy, AAC rep to Faculty Senate

Finalized Minutes are sent to: April Kent, Secretary of Faculty Senate, and cc'd to Dr. Romine, Chair and Dr. Woodford-Gormley, AAC chair